Displaced Coal Miner Training Program Overview

Why was DCMT Developed?

The Center for Rural Development (The Center) has been awarded a grant to provide training and re-employment services to displaced coal miners impacted by layoffs and coal mine closures. The goal of this initiative will be to provide an all-inclusive training package that will lead displaced miners to gainful employment in the areas of Bell, Clay, Laurel, Rockcastle, Jackson, Owsley, Pulaski, Perry, Whitley, Knox, Harlan, and Leslie Counties.

For purposes of The Center for Rural Development’s DCMT Program, a “displaced coal miner” is someone who has experienced a layoff, and who has had continuous employment of at least one year in the coal mine industry within the last five years.



Coverage Areas

  • Bell County
  • Clay County
  • Laurel County
  • Leslie County
  • Rockcastle County
  • Jackson County
  • Owsley County
  • Pulaski County
  • Leslie County
  • Perry County
  • Whitley County
  • Knox County
  • Harlan County

Register Today!

Please take the time to go through our application process to gain access to job possibilities and training.